Do it

Posted on Updated on

Do it – 2 simple words, yet why are they so scary? Not one to step away from a challenge, I hesitate out of fear of simply starting something new. Why? What if I fail? What if I fall? Wait, what if I succeed? What if I fly?

My desire to inspired is strong. My desire to inspire is stronger. I feel the pull to continue to become a better version of me yet sometimes, that proves to be a difficult task. In the last 5 years, I have done & said a million things I thought  I’d never say or do; simply put, I’ve become Kristina 2.0! (For the record, this is another thing I never thought I’d say or do).

I’ve been toying with sharing my story, but of course, the fear in me thinks, “Who cares?” “Why on earth would anyone read my words?” Well, as a friend pointed out, “just do it, with no expectations.” So, here I am, setting up a blog to share my journey. I know I have one reader & cheerleader – other than my mom! Here it goes….

Every good story, it seems, starts with some type of event that makes you question everything. Mine is no different. I have questioned and really, I continue to question EVERYTHING! Who I was, who I am, what I was doing, what was my purpose, am I making a difference, why am I angry, frustrated, annoyed and well, you get it, I was unhappy. I needed to change, I knew it, but boy, oh boy, was I in for a shock to my system, body & brain! I had no idea what was to come. When I reflect back to that moment, I think, “Crap! Kristina, you shoulda ran for the hills!” To be honest, I’m glad I didn’t – now!

My so called life changing moment came in 2010 when my business was hit with massive new competition, loss of business income & clients (because they fell for the cheaper prices of the competitor), loss of confidence in what I was doing. Hey, c’mon, I was on top of my game! I was the example, I was the model. I was devastated! I was ready to throw in the towel, quit, run, give up and then some. I fell – HARD! I had spent the previous 7 years dedicating my life & soul passionately into this business. I felt like I failed myself, my hubby, my staff, my fellow franchises and even my head office. I was pissed, angry, embarrassed, and didn’t care about anything, myself included. Then, it happened. The moment everything changed (only I didn’t know it was going to)….

I got a message, if I remember correctly, it was twitter message, asking for a freebie at an event. I thought to myself, “Are you kidding me? It’s the quietest time of the year & you’re asking me for a freebie?” Sure, the promise of “good exposure and promotion” was spoken about, “ha-ha, right” I thought! Business owners, you know what I’m talking about! Well, reluctantly I did it. Funny thing is, the person who asked me is now a really beautiful and valued friend. She told me later that I wasn’t her first choice to ask to participate in this event. The person she asked first was already booked and unable to attend. Looking back, I’m glad it all worked out, even if it was by default.

If anyone is reading this, you’re probably thinking, “Yeah, who cares? Lots of business owners go through this. What’s so special about you?” To be honest, nothing. However, this is just background. The journey really hasn’t begun.

I’m saving that for the next installment. For now, signing off & wishing you love, inspiration, and the discovery of YOUR 2.0!

inspire_be_inspired

2 thoughts on “Do it

    lunchgals said:
    May 24, 2015 at 2:57 am

    I LOVE it!!

    You have no idea what an inspiration you are to so many!!
    💕💕😘

    Like

    Change is hard! « Discovering YOUR 2.0 said:
    May 30, 2015 at 7:09 pm

    […] few weeks of the event I mentioned in my last blog, I had connected with the organizer on social media, which is funny as I despised social media at […]

    Like

Leave a comment